No Comments on Scholarship

Martin Luther King Jr. Scholarship

Each year, the American Correctional Association (ACA) sponsors the Martin Luther King Jr. Scholarship in order to commemorate Dr. King’s belief that “progress is best achieved through cooperation rather than conflict, participation rather than partisanship, and compassion and understanding rather than hatred and prejudice.” This message is incredibly important in this time of political division.

Who is eligible to apply for the Martin Luther King Jr. Scholarship?

Applicants must:

  • major in  a career in the criminal justice field
  • be accepted or currently attending an undergraduate program of a four-year college
  • have demonstrated financial need
  • excel academically and demonstrate commitment to the principles of Dr. King.
  • be a minority student

All nominees must describe in a short essay (250 words, double-spaced) their reflections on the ideals and philosophies of Dr. Martin Luther King. Applicants should share about how they strive to emulate these qualities in their own lives. Since this is an essay scholarship,  your best writing is required.  In fact, it accounts for thirty percent of your overall rating. Make sure that you use vivid examples to make your essay come to life. Don’t forget to show that you care by proofreading for spelling and grammar before hitting that “submit” button.

In addition to the important Martin Luther King Jr. Scholarship essay, applicants must also submit the nomination form and proof of financial need. If the student chooses, they can include a copy of the last page of the FAFSA application as evidence of need. Finally,  don’t forget to submit proof that you are accepted or already enrolled in a four-year college.

How much is the Martin Luther King Jr. Scholarship worth?

The scholarship amount of $2,000 is paid directly to the winner’s college or university.

When is this scholarship application due?

All nominations and supporting materials must be received at the ACA’s headquarters by June 1, 2020.

Leave a Reply